Skip to content
Hounslow Counts — Hounslow, in numbers.Local help →

Hounslow, in numbers

People and living standards

Hounslow council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Hounslow council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 203,917 in 1991 to 299,486 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Hounslow council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 206,034 people in 1996; 299,486 people in 2025. 45.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Hounslow council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991203,917
1992201,987
1993201,992
1994201,756
1995203,691
1996206,034
1997210,146
1998212,445
1999214,298
2000214,731
2001215,976
2002216,888
2003216,498
2004219,440
2005223,776
2006228,126
2007233,454
2008237,907
2009243,366
2010249,236
2011254,927
2012260,584
2013265,547
2014270,773
2015275,097
2016278,601
2017281,117
2018285,430
2019289,652
2020289,773
2021288,164
2022290,151
2023297,085
2024300,047
2025299,486
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Hounslow council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 44,151 people in 1996; 56,689 people in 2025. 28.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Hounslow council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199141,599
199242,073
199342,666
199443,091
199543,692
199644,151
199744,782
199845,308
199945,144
200044,545
200143,624
200243,602
200343,744
200444,174
200544,742
200645,624
200746,745
200847,853
200949,116
201050,548
201151,692
201253,496
201354,907
201456,128
201557,267
201658,393
201759,399
201860,411
201960,696
202060,408
202159,199
202258,751
202358,780
202457,989
202556,689
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Hounslow council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 136,503 people in 1996; 204,942 people in 2025. 50.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Hounslow council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991135,726
1992133,624
1993133,274
1994132,964
1995134,481
1996136,503
1997140,111
1998142,072
1999144,260
2000145,616
2001147,961
2002148,964
2003148,430
2004150,863
2005154,391
2006157,899
2007161,856
2008164,795
2009168,428
2010172,266
2011176,220
2012179,329
2013182,119
2014185,317
2015187,781
2016189,532
2017190,408
2018192,891
2019196,051
2020195,811
2021194,695
2022196,372
2023202,525
2024205,245
2025204,942
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Hounslow council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 25,380 people in 1996; 37,855 people in 2025. 49.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Hounslow council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199126,592
199226,290
199326,052
199425,701
199525,518
199625,380
199725,253
199825,065
199924,894
200024,570
200124,391
200224,322
200324,324
200424,403
200524,643
200624,603
200724,853
200825,259
200925,822
201026,422
201127,015
201227,759
201328,521
201429,328
201530,049
201630,676
201731,310
201832,128
201932,905
202033,554
202134,270
202235,028
202335,780
202436,813
202537,855
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 288,181 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Hounslow · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh105,84636.7%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African20,8107.2%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups13,5144.7%
White127,08344.1%
Other ethnic group20,9287.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 253,957 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Hounslow · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White130,50551.4%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups10,3494.1%
Asian/Asian British87,25734.4%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British16,8136.6%
Other ethnic group9,0333.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 212,341 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Hounslow · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White137,75464.9%
Mixed6,4473%
Asian/Asian British52,51024.7%
Black/Black British9,2374.4%
Chinese/Other6,3933%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 14.7% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Hounslow council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £14,028 per person in 1997; £29,788 per person in 2024. 112.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Hounslow council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199714,028
199814,236
199914,905
200015,591
200116,174
200216,460
200317,292
200417,666
200518,197
200618,585
200719,190
200819,553
200919,400
201019,383
201119,140
201220,157
201320,921
201421,407
201522,824
201622,455
201722,664
201823,674
201924,120
202023,812
202125,056
202226,599
202327,999
202429,788
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Hounslow council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 32.2% in 1997; 14.7% in 2024. 17.5 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Hounslow council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199732.2
199831.5
199931.8
200031
200130.7
200230.1
200332.7
200430.2
200529.4
200626.9
200725.1
200824.2
200921.2
201020
201117.5
201219.3
201319.4
201418.4
201520
201616.6
201715
201816
201914.5
202013.4
202114.7
202215.8
202314.5
202414.7
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

60.7%

21 March 2021 · Hounslow council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

20.7%

21 March 2021 · Hounslow council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

18.6%

21 March 2021 · Hounslow council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.1%

21 March 2021 · Hounslow council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£525,000

July 2026 · Hounslow council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,952

August 2026 · Hounslow council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.